EBLUL Closing Statement
Monday, 01 March 2010

EBLUL wishes to note that at a meeting of its Board of Directors on January 27, 2010 it has been decided to end this organisation after a quarter century of promoting the cause of Lesser Used Languages in the EU.

We are much in debt to the founders of our organisation, who, starting in 1985, made a key contribution to European policy and created the conditions for an inclusive vision of linguistic diversity. This was done in conjunction with the Member State Committees of the organisation, initially representing the ‘old’ EU and after 2004, including the new accession states of Poland, Slovakia, Estonia, Hungary , the Czech Republic and Latvia. The unique vision of the founders was to create a ‘Europe of the Citizen’, where we might be recognised and celebrated for who we truly are.

Most importantly, co-operation was fostered with institutions such as the EU Commission which became a key funder; the EU Parliament where the debate was fostered , ECOSOC, the UN, and the Council of Europe. Co-funding was provided by national and regional governments. Partnership for Diversity (2000-) provided a further mechanism for the participation of regional and national administrations in the debate about the role of regional ,minority and smaller state languages. We wish to thank the administrations of the following places for hosting it:

Dublin/Belfast; Palma de Mallorca; Helsinki; Flensburg; Gorizia; Isle of Skye; Vigo di Fassa; Gdánsk; Province of Fryslan. These and other measures including conferences in Slovakia and Estonia brought the richness of the linguistic heritage to the attention of governments, academia and the general public.

We note that members of the organisations which have been registered as independent organisations in their own jurisdictions are free to choose their own course of action for the future and we wish them, together with other new entrants to the field at EU level, every success in the promotion of regional, minority and smaller state languages.

Neasa Ní Chinnéide, President
John Mc Intyre, Vice President
Pádraig O Ceithearnaigh
Simon Faber
Tangi Louarn
Mikel Etxebarria
Domenico Morelli